My seventh novel (Bookouture, 26/09/23) is The Playground, a twisty psychological thriller that early readers have called ‘addictive’, ‘a true page-turner, ‘incredibly clever and unique’, ‘really gripping.

He saved my little girl when I couldn’t. I invited him into our lives. But I had no idea he knew my darkest secret…

It is an ordinary September morning when I nearly lose my little girl. My mouth is dry, my hands shake when I see that she has darted unexpectedly into the playground… The place where my own childhood ended. Where I can’t set foot inside. As she wobbles on top of the climbing frame about to fall, a silent scream freezes in my throat.

So when a stranger hears her cries and rushes to help, I feel weak with relief. I thank him as my daughter presses her tear-stained face into my skirt. Looking into his warm brown eyes and gentle smile, I feel an instant connection. 

When our paths cross again, I invite him for dinner. I’ve been so lonely since the breakdown of my marriage. What harm could come of it? Soon we are seeing each other daily and I feel a spark grow between us.

But then he says something that makes my heart beat fast in my chest. Something that makes me think he knows my secret. That he knows what really happened at the playground all those years ago. And if he knows that, he could destroy my precious family in a second…

A completely unputdownable page-turner about the terrible secrets that any family can hide. 

My sixth book (Avon, 30/09/21) is The Daughter’s Choice, an emotional family drama about the secrets we keep from those closest to us.


Award-winning novelist Samantha Tonge described it as: ‘A page-turning, emotional rollercoaster I found difficult to put down.’

Here’s the blurb from my publisher:

Is her whole life built on a lie?


Rose has always been close to her father. Her mother died soon after she was born, so it’s been just the two of them for as long as she can remember.


But a chance encounter days before shes due to get married leaves Rose questioning everything she has ever known.


The man she trusts most in the world has been keeping a secret from her. And the truth will leave her with an impossible choice…


My fifth novel, released on 11 June 2020, is called How to Save a Life.

Imogen Clark, bestselling author of Where The Story Starts, described it as: A heartwarming and thought-provoking story of grief, redemption and reinvention in our modern world.
You can’t have a rainbow, without a little rain…
When a stranger saves Luke’s life, he knows he’s been given a second chance.
He’s going to make it count – and, determined to live each day to its fullest, he starts by saying yes to everything life has to offer.
Slowly but surely, Luke learns that a little bit of blue-sky thinking can go a long way, and things start to look up.
But when Luke’s new resolve is tested, will he return to his old ways? Or can one fateful moment truly save a life?
A life-affirming story about a man who is given a second chance, perfect for fans of Mike Gayle and Imogen Clark.

My USA Today bestselling fourth novel, My Sister’s Lies, was released in 2019. 

Heres the blurb, to give you a flavour of what its about:
You trust your sister ... don’t you?
Hannah’s life is pretty close to perfect: she has a great job, she’s married to Mark, and she enjoys her child-free existence. The only sadness in her life is a fall out with her sister Diane, who hasn’t spoken to her in over ten years. But now Diane is on her doorstep – and this time, she’s got her teenage daughter Mia in tow.
When Diane asks if Mia can stay with Hannah and Mark for a few days, Hannah is glad of the chance to get to know her niece. But as the days turn into weeks and Diane doesn’t return, Hannah begins to worry. Why hasn’t her sister been in touch?
Diane is carrying a devastating secret that will destroy Hannah’s carefully constructed life. But how much is she willing to reveal – and when will she pick her moment?
My Sister’s Lies is a gripping, emotional story of love, loss and dark family secrets. Perfect for fans of Kerry Fisher and Adele Parks.

Stand By Me, my third novel, was released on 11 January 2018. It’s a heartwarming story perfect for fans of Keith Stewart and Jojo Moyes, that will leave you with a tear in your eye but hope in your heart.

Lisa and Elliot have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful.

Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again.

With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas…


If Ever I Fall is the title of my second book, released in 2017  a devastating tale of a family rocked by tragedy.

Praise for If Ever I Fall:

‘The characters are vivid and believable … You will need plenty of tissues for this heartbreaking tale of love, grief and devotion.’ ★★★★★ 
The Sun

‘If Ever I Fall is exceptionally beautiful, from the touching story to characters who will steal your heart. Emotionally charged and inspirational, this is a book not to be missed. It will stay with me for a long time.’
Miranda Dickinson, Sunday Times bestseller

‘A wonderfully told tale of devastation, grief and ultimately hope, with a narrative that grips from the start and doesn’t let go until the final page.’
Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of  The Letter and The Secret

‘When I wasn’t actually reading this book, I found myself thinking constantly about it. Real. Emotional. Powerful. A must-read for anyone who loves to lose themselves completely in a book.’ 
Claudia Carroll

‘A wonderful trip-hopping path through family relationships, death and bereavement that keeps you guessing to the turn of the last page. S.D. Robertson writes with brave assurance that makes the story a must read and marks him as an author to follow.’
Stewart Foster, award-winning author of The Bubble Boy
From the back cover:
Is holding on harder than letting go? 
Dan’s life has fallen apart at the seams. All he’s ever wanted is to keep his family together, but everything seems beyond repair and, try as he might, he cant turn back time.  
Maria is drowning in grief. She spends her days writing letters that will never be answered, unable to connect with the real world.  
In the face of real tragedy, can this couple find a way to reconcile their past with a new future? And is love enough to carry them through?

Time to Say Goodbye is a poignant story about the unique bond between a father and his daughter. This is my debut novel, OUT NOW, published in the UK in paperback and ebook formats by Avon HarperCollins.

From the back cover:

How do you leave the person you love the most?

Will Curtis’s six-year-old daughter, Ella, knows her father will never leave her. After all, he promised her so when her mother died. And he’s going to do everything he can to keep his word.

What Will doesn’t know is that the promise he made to his little girl might be harder to keep than he imagined. When he’s faced with an impossible decision, Will finds that the most obvious choice might not be the right one.

But the future is full of unexpected surprises. And father and daughter are about to embark on an unforgettable journey together.

Contact Form


Email *

Message *